The Eminent Domain has been established. Please, remain calm.

Hello, world!

I’ve finally made my move to the Blogosphere. It took me awhile, but I’m here! I look forward to sharing my thoughts and views on the wonderful world of electronic music and its many sub-genres within these pages. I will be discussing the artists who make it, the people who listen to it, the tools that are used to create it, and of course, the very nature of the music itself. Everything I post will be infused with my own twisted sense of humor and sarcasm, along with a whole bunch of meaningless (albeit amusing) fluff. While I take my fondness for music very seriously, I don’t always extend the same courtesy to the world around it.

I will draw upon my immense passion for the art of electronic music and my experiences over the past twenty-plus years as an individual who has been actively engaged in the creation, promotion and enjoyment of electronic music. My goal is to provide a unique and thought-provoking insight into the ever-evolving microcosm created by the synthesizer and computer. I will share personal experiences I’ve had in having worked alongside some of the biggest names in the business, and how I’ve been fortunate enough to still count some of them among my personal friends. I hope to be able to interview some of them along the way and share those conversations here in this blog to show why I find them and their music so appealing and engaging.

On these pages I will also review some of the hottest and most essential recordings in the field of electronic music. I will highlight the legendary recordings which helped build the foundation of the genre, and promote new releases from both established artists, and up-and-coming independents. If it’s new and exciting, you’ll be hearing about it….. or rather, READING about it here on these pages. You will also be able to catch up on what some of the genre’s original innovators have been up to, and what, if anything, they’re working on.

My reviews will be in-depth, analytical, informative…….. and hopefully enjoyable to read!

While my love of electronic music covers everything from trance, house and dubstep, to synth-pop, industrial, and ambient, you can expect me to go particularly heavy on the synth-pop and trance, as that is where my greatest love and personal interest lies. So consider yourself warned!

Lastly, because I am also an active professional musician, remixer and record producer, you can expect a fair amount of posts regarding the tools of the trade. I have over twenty-five years of experience with synthesizers and drum machines, and I use all manner of music production software in my day-to-day work. I enjoy talking about the synths, DAWs, and VSTs as much as I do playing them.

And yes……. I will also shamelessly plug my own work!

As a full-time college student, father, husband, musician, and producer I can’t guarantee the frequency of my posts with any degree of certainty and/or consistency, but my goal is to shoot for at least one post per week. Life has a habit of getting in the way, so please bear that in mind if I appear to be slacking off.

I’m excited to have a venue to share this passion. Thanks for dropping by and checking out my blog.

Cheers, and God bless!

Jimm Kjelgaard Sr. – Eminent Sol

Image

Say what?

