MARCH UPDATE: Alien Skin, Martyn Bailey, Eminent Sol, EmT, The Jets, Jonteknik, KirA, Pinklogik, Rare Faktion

Hello, everyone! School and recording sessions have been keeping me Über busy for the past two months. I realized just this morning that it’s been almost two months since my last article, so I figured I’d better rectify that as soon as possible! 🙂

There’s plenty of exciting stuff going on in the world of indie electronic music. However, my time to lay it all down and give y’all the 411, is virtually nil. So until I get some bona-fide spare time to sit down and do a proper article on any of the artists I’m about to mention, here’s just a quick update of some of the exciting goings-on that I’m privy to………

ALIEN SKIN: 

Image

On April 1, 2014, my dear friend, George will release his fifth all-new studio album, which he has lovingly christened, Creature With The Human Face. The title track is currently available for a test drive over at Alien Skin’s official Bandcamp site. Like all of Alien Skin’s previous releases, there’s a lot to be excited about. It’s lovely, mellow synth-pop with a good smattering of melancholy goodness thrown in. Everything George does is world-class brilliant. He never ceases to amaze, impress and inspire me. You can pre-order the album NOW at Bandcamp. I strongly encourage you to do so ASAP, as George has thrown in a sweet deal for those who pre-order:

http://alienskin.bandcamp.com/album/creature-with-the-human-face

MARTYN BAILEY:

Image

Coming in the not-too-distant future will be Martyn Bailey’s second album, which he has already called, Dolls. No solid word yet on an expected release date, but we can certainly expect it sooner than later. Martyn has already given us a brief sample of what lies ahead for his new album. This past week he released an absolutely GORGEOUS video for one of the songs that will be featured on the upcoming Dolls LP. The track is called, ‘I Still Dream of Antarctica’, and it’s beyond brilliant! The song is a beautifully ethereal gem, that evokes the music of Enigma, Jean-Michel Jarre, Vangelis, Depeche Mode, and a touch of The Beloved. However, it still has Martyn’s unique sound all over it. All I can really tell you is that I can’t get enough of it!! It’s one of those tracks that is best experienced with a good pair of headphones. Plug in, press play, and get lost in Martyn’s soaring vocalizations and steady pulsating rhythms. No pun intended, but it gives me chills. (The GOOD kind!) 🙂 🙂

Here’s the video, which is every bit as fantastic as the song itself:

EMINENT SOL:

Image

Yep……shameless plug right here! 🙂

I’m pleased to report that my upcoming Have In Mind ep is progressing very well. I had originally planned on releasing it on 15 April, but I’ve pushed the release date back two weeks to 29 April. I’m so excited for y’all to hear this. I believe it’s my best work thus far.

So save the date……. brand-new Eminent Sol music will be released on April 29th!! 🙂

EmT:

Image

My dear friends, Tony and Ema, better known as EmT, have just announced this past week that their second single will be the lovely track, ‘Walk Away’. The release date is still pending, but for sure, it’ll be a winner! You can check out a clip of ‘Walk Away’ here:

THE JETS: 

Image

80s R&B/Pop legends, The Jets have recently released a new album aptly-named, Reunited. The original line-up of siblings (minus Gene Hunt) has, as the album’s title suggests, gotten back together for a brand-new album and upcoming tour. The album features some new material, as well as a few Jets classics that have been tastefully and creatively re-visioned and re-recorded. The end result is simply amazing! They’re still one of the funnest bands to listen to.

You simply cannot be in a bad mood with this album playing in the background. In the coming weeks, I’ll be doing a proper feature on The Jets, and what lead them to get the band back together. So stay tuned, and getest thou, thy buns over to iTunes to buy this wonderful album! 🙂

JONTEKNIK:

Image

Jon Russell, (AKA Jonteknik) is releasing an exciting expanded version of his stupendous album, Giants Under The Microscope. This special edition will be available as a factory-pressed CD on 22 April. However, this 22-track special edition album is available for pre-sale NOW over at Jon’s official Bandcamp page. I strongly suggest you get in on the pre-sale, as Jon is throwing in a sweet offer for those who do so.

Read all about over at the Jonteknik Bandcamp page, and buy your copy TODAY!!

http://jonteknik.bandcamp.com/album/giants-under-the-microscope-special-edition

KirA:

Image

KirA, one of my current faves on the indie electronic scene, have just released a smashing remix of their song, ‘Pure Delight’. Seriously, folks, it’s BRILLIANT! It’s sexy, it’s sultry, and it’s one of the best remixes available out there. Buy it NOW over at KirA’s official Bandcamp page:

http://kirasounds.bandcamp.com/track/pure-delight-kira-house-remix

PINKLOGIK: 

Image

Just a real quick shout out to the lovely Jules (AKA Pinklogik). I’m excited to report that Pinklogik will be releasing a 4-track ep in the coming weeks. No solid date has been given yet, but it’s a release I’m very excited for.

In the meantime, head over to Pinklogik’s official Bandcamp page to satiate your electronic craving:

http://pinklogik.bandcamp.com

RARE FAKTION:

Image

I can barely contain my enthusiasm for this amazing new indie band from BOUNTIFUL, UTAH of all places! 🙂

They’re an exciting new duo comprised of synth wizard and singer, Tom Cella, and up-and-coming synth guru, Glen Harper. They’ve recently posted three demos of their original material, and I have to say……. it’s some of the most amazingly-solid synth-pop I’ve heard in the past 20 years. Brilliant, thoughtful lyrics, and music that would make Claude S. from Anything Box green with envy.

I will be doing a proper full-length feature article on these boys in the not-too-distant future, so keep an eye out!

In the meantime, please check out their demos on SoundCloud, and see for yourself, why I’m so excited about these guys:

BLUETOWN ELECTRONICA COMPILATION:

Image

On 4 April, SubCulture Records will be releasing what looks to be the HOTTEST compilation of the year, with their Bluetown Electronica (Is It Time Yet?) LP. With 25….. that’s right….. TWENTY-FIVE tracks in all, the album is a veritable Who’s-Who of indie electronic artists. Many of my personal favourites are featured on this album. Jonteknik, KirA, Pinklogik, Synthie dB Shock, and EmT…… just to name a few!

This is an absolute MUST-HAVE for any fan of electronic music.

It’s available for pre-order RIGHT NOW over at Bandcamp:

https://subculturerecords.bandcamp.com/album/bluetown-electronica-is-it-time-yet

Wrap-up…………….

That pretty much does it for now. Do yourself, and these phenomenal artists a HUGE favor, and BUY their music.

Thanks so much for checking in with me, thank you for your continued support, and remember…..

SUPPORT INDEPENDENT ARTISTS!!!

Image

Jimm Kjelgaard – March 2014

